[Book Opinion] Looking for Alaska

In the dark beside me, she smelled of sweat and sunshine and vanilla, and on that thin-mooned night I could see little more than her silhouette, but even in the dark, I could see her eyes- fierce emeralds. And not just beautiful, but hot too.

Alaska Young. Gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, screwed up- and utterly fascinating. Miles Halter could not be more in love with her. But when tragedy strikes, Miles discovers the value and the pain of living and loving unconditionally.

Nothing will ever be the same.


looking-for-alaskaLooking for Alaska. If I’m asked on what to say in one word about this book, that would be unique.

Looking for a climax? There was none.
Looking for an evident (true) love? None as well.
Looking for a certain ending? No. Not here.

This book doesn’t give me that much feeling to squeal over or… do something extreme in particular- like to an extent of crying and laughing crazily upon the content itself. Probably for some people, it would be just too plain to be a story and too expected to be liked.

Putting it simply, the book was going along with the life (not love) of a main character; Miles Halter. It started off on his thought and will enroll to the new school; to seek a Great Perhaps, was what he has said in the book. Then moved to his thought about his new roommate and friends, a woman that stole his attention, hooked up with another woman, and so the list goes on.

It’s not that the book doesn’t have a climax or interesting point at all. There was an incident; a huge and unforgettable for the characters, that was for sure. However, there was still no exact solution on the incident, in my opinion. It did tell on how the characters would react upon the incident, but not on how they solved it. And to be honest, it can’t be solved as well in a reality.

Despite all the words I’ve said above, I kind of love the story itself.

In my own opinion, not all the stories need to have an impulsive moment to be great. How realistic the story is- especially the end part, is most likely a standard to decide how good the story is- I guess. Even though this story isn’t that realistic- considering on how they did the pranks to the teacher a bit too freely, but it was showing me on how live really is. It was well-written and clear on how the daily life was boring at a certain point, how the relationship between the characters there went up and down depends on the mood, and also… how the ending was done not in an obvious one; not quite happy but realistic.

This book was my first John Green’s novel that I picked and read randomly (didn’t know what it was about, when it was published or such). I haven’t read The Fault in Our Stars yet, and had no intention in doing so anytime near in the future. However, right now, I have to admit that I’m tempted to buy another one; the Will Grayson, Will Grayson one (this one, I did read the summary).

Would I spend another penny to buy it? We’ll see later.

written by liphz

Leave a Reply

