[MASTERPOST] 2015 Reading Challenge – KPB (Book Hoarders Community)

Good day! It’s been long since the last time I really posted in here, eh? Why? Why I was missing? Well, to be honest lately I’m more a reader than a writer lately. I spent most of the times not to write anymore… but to read. Though, I really wish to write once in awhile as well. So to start the ‘real post’ again, I’m going to tell about my 2015 Reading Challenge.

It was quite late, I know- I mean, I’ve joined the challenge since February 2015 effectively (I didn’t read or follow the challenge in January 2015) and just posted it here now; March 2015. But well, better late than nothing; isn’t it? Anyway, as I realized that I have added books and books and books and books again to the stack, I know now that I have to really start reading and complete all the books there. Because as I counted, I have like- 70 books that I haven’t read there? Like- seriously? O_O And so here I am, trying to finish those by joining the challenge.

This 2015 Reading Challenge was made by… someone (Well of course- duh!) and was posted at my reading group. The idea is to follow the clues and read at least four book each months in a year (which means… erm, I’ll read around 48 book in a year approximately). Sounds good enough, though not sure that I’ll be able doing it and I might skip some of the books that I don’t have. But *shrugs* worth to try, right?

So here’s the list- grouped by months and the books I read according to it (which I’m going to update once in awhile once I’ve finished the book). Currently most of the review was written in Bahasa (Indonesian) at my goodreads (links will be added later), but I’ll try to post the English version little by little here as well (expect, I think, the local books).

1. JANUARY

  • A book with more than 500 pages
    Hanafiah #1 : Lukisan Hujan (Revised Edition) – Sitta Karina (INA)
  • A classic romance
  • A book that became a movie
    The Maze Runner #1 : The Maze Runner – James Dashner (ENG)
  • A book published this year
    Lockwood & Co. #2 : The Whispering Skull – Jonathan Stroud (INA || ENG)
  • OTHERS (not based on clues)
    Infinity Ring #3 : The Trap Door – Lisa McMann (ENG)

2. FEBRUARY

  • A book with a number in the title
    1Q84 (Book 1) – Haruki Murakami (INA || ENG)
  • A book written by someone under 30
    A Tale Dark & Grimm – Adam Gidwitz (INA || ENG)
  • A book with nonhuman characters
    Manxmouse – Paul Gallico (INA || ENG)
  • A funny book
    Anak Kos Dodol – Dewi (‘dedew’) Rieka (INA)
  • OTHERS (not based on clues)
    Shopaholic #1 : Confession of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella (INA || ENG)
    Kaas (Cheese) : Willem Escott (INA || ENG)

3. MARCH

  • A book by a female author
    Hanafiah #3 : Pesan dari Bintang – Sitta Karina (INA)
    Shopaholic #2 : Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (INA || ENG)
    Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell (INA || ENG)
  • A mystery or thriller
    Robert Langdon #4 : Inferno – Dan Brown (INA || ENG)
  • A book with a one-word title
    1Q84 (Book 2) – Haruki Murakami (INA || ENG)
    Septimus Heap #1 : Magyk – Angie Sage (INA || ENG)
    Septimus Heap #2 : Flyte – Angie Sage (INA || ENG)
    Divergent #2 : Insurgent – Veronica Roth (ENG)
  • A book of short stories
    Dari Datuk ke Sakura Emas (INA)
    Pieces of You – TABLO (INA || ENG)
  • OTHERS
    The Maze Runner #2 : The Scorch Trial – James Dashner (ENG)

4. APRIL

  • A book set in a different country
    1Q84 (Book 3) – Haruki Murakami (INA || ENG)
    Shopaholic #3 : Shopaholic Ties The Knot – Sophie Kinsella (INA || ENG)
    Shopaholic #4 : Shopaholic & Sister – Sophie Kinsella (INA || ENG)
  • A nonfiction book
    Simple Thinking about Blood Type – Park Dong Sun (INA || ENG)
  • A popular author’s first book
    Cormoran Strike #1 : The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith (INA || ENG)
    The Malediction #1 : Stolen Songbird – Danielle L. Jensen (INA || ENG)
  • A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet
    Deception Point – Dan Brown (INA || ENG)
    The First Phone Call from Heaven – Mitch Albom (INA || ENG)
  • OTHERS
    The Maze Runner #3 : The Death Cure – James Dashner (ENG)
    Divergent #3 : Allegiant – Veronica Roth (ENG)
    Septimus Heap #3 :Physik – Angie Sage (INA || ENG)

5. MAY

  • A book a friend recommended
    The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith
  • A Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  • A book based on a true story
  • A book at the bottom of your to-read list

6. JUNE

  • A book your mom loves
    The Godfather – Mario Puzo (my dad loves, actually; since I don’t have my mom’s)
  • A book that scares you
  • A book more than 100 years old
  • A book based entirely on its cover

7. JULY

  • A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
  • A memoir
  • A book you can finish in a day
    Kencana – Sitta Karina
  • A book with antonyms in the title

8. AUGUST

  • A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
  • A book that came out the year you were born
  • A book with bad reviews
  • A trilogy

9. SEPTEMBER

  • A book from your childhood
  • A book with a love triangle
  • A book set in high school
  • A book with a colour in the title

10. OCTOBER

  • A book that made you cry
  • A book with magic
  • A graphic novel
  • A book by an author you’ve never read before

11. NOVEMBER

  • A book you own but have never read
  • A book that takes place in your hometown
  • A book that was originally written in a different language
  • A book set during Christmas

12. DECEMBER

  • A book written by an author with your name initials
  • A banned book
  • A book based on or turned into a TV show
  • A book you started but never finished.
Leave a Reply

