[Book Opinion] [English] 1Q84 (Book 1) – Haruki Murakami

February’s Reading Challenge : A Book with Number in Title

I read an Indonesian version of this with :

ISBN : 9789799105677
Translator : Ribeka Ota
Publisher : Kepustakaan Populer Gramedia
Number of pages : 516 pages

The year is 1Q84.
This is the real world, there is no doubt about that.
But in this world, there are two moons in the sky.In this world, the fates of two people, Tengo and Aomame, are closely intertwined. They are each, in their own way, doing something very dangerous. And in this world, there seems no way to save them both.Something extraordinary is starting.

Let’s be honest here. I’ve never read Haruki Murakami’s work. This is even probably the first time I read Japanese Author’s book (aside from manga). Why? I don’t know; don’t ask me. I didn’t have many expectation as I bought this book. I just saw the Strange Library book (other work of Haruki Murakami’s) as giveaway and started reading the excerpt. The idea is interesting enough, but what awed me was the price; quite high for that much of pages. And so… based on that odds, I started searching for other books and found someone was selling this one. Without much thought, I bought all three books at once and… here I am; getting captivated by his style of writing.

1Q84 is basically telling about…. uhm… I don’t know. I gave up in understanding the whole plot line from Book One, actually. In general, Book One was some kind of an introduction of the 1Q84 world. That’s all? For all 516 pages? Yes, that’s all in my opinion. I can’t grasp on what is the main problem and how our two main characters; Aomame and Tengo would be related one with another in that plot line. True that there was a relationship between them; something that they might not know- yet, but like 99% parts of the book is just switching two different life between Aomame and Tengo. All I know about is that there’re two different world, one with year 1984 and another with year 1Q84 (Q for questionable). So far.

Aomame is an assassin who is always assigned to kill a bad spouse; as in, a husband who used violence towards her wife, or a man who raped one or more women, or such other kinds. Meanwhile, Tengo is a writer and mathematics tutor. One day, Aomame is assigned for a big task- to kill the head of Sakigake who’s never seen in front of the public; who’s proven to rape the underage girls to the point their wombs are broken. And Tengo, he was asked to re-write the story which was originally ‘written’ by Fuka-Eri, a young girl; at the age 17. Even though he knows that it shouldn’t be done, but he also couldn’t reject the idea, as the story was too intriguing for Tengo. Who knows, it leads both of them (Aomame and Tengo) to the same destination. The “Little People”. What is Little People? Well, you just have to read it by yourself.

As for the writing style of Haruki Murakami, I think it’s safe to say that around 90% of the book is consist of description. There is not much of conversation. Description here, and there. But strangely, even for me- who in most of times dislike the too-long-description because I’d like to know the storyline instead of how someone looks like; it was enjoyable enough. By enjoyable, I’m not saying “I can bear it.”. Instead, I’m saying “It’s fun, great, and I can’t stop flipping the pages.”. Every. Single. Detail. Of it.

Aside from his writing style, I also enjoyed how Haruki Murakami put the connection between Aomame and Tengo. It was written not in a blunt way, but with some small hints that might- or might not be as what I thought about. I can only think “Is it related on what happened with Tengo at ….. ? Or just two different events?” when something was said at Aomame’s part; or vice versa. Well sometimes I was right and another time I was wrong and at another time again, it wasn’t revealed. Yet. RIght now, I am quite curious on what this “Little People” is and how they looked like. Seems that they holds the main part in this book.

Though, I had to say that there’re still something I can’t understand of. Like, I concluded that Aomame and Tengo is at one world, but why it also indicated that they’re in two different world? How can that happened? But who knows, probably it was intentionally kept to be revealed in Book Two or Three. Whatever it was about, it intrigues me to read more about 1Q84. And also, other works from Haruki Murakami.

My rating? It’s 4 of 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “[Book Opinion] [English] 1Q84 (Book 1) – Haruki Murakami

  1. Pingback: [MASTERPOST] 2015 Read Big Challenge | The Seventh Heaven

  2. Pingback: [MASTERPOST] 2015 New Author Reading Challenge | The Seventh Heaven

  3. Pingback: [MASTERPOST] 2015 Reading Challenge – KPB (Book Hoarders Community) | The Seventh Heaven

Leave a Reply

